A Moment of Quiet

Going a day without social media is easier said then done.  The definition of social media is “forms of electronic communication (as Web sites for social networking and microblogging) through which users create online communities to share information, ideas, personal messages, and other content (as videos).”Due to the growing amount of technology, going on social media sites is like breathing to the younger generations. In people are some cases, developing anxiety when they are not able to check the sites.  This causes concerns for families because many students are not able to concentrate in classes without checking statues, text messages, or pokes.

 

I spent a day without social media and I struggled.  In the beginning of the day I thought it would be easy, but as the day continued and I kept seeing my friends check their phones and computers, only wanted me to check mine even more.  A day without social media changed my life because it made me realize that it is all right to not be connected to everything and everyone all the time.  I felt better about myself because I was able to have a better concentration on the school day and a better concentration on my conversations with my friends.

 

Life without social media would be wonderful.  People would not be just connected to their technology but they would connect to the human beings.  Personally, I think society has been missing out on the beauties of human connections because we are always on our phones or computers.  Due to some research, I am not the only one that thinks this, “More and more people are stepping away from the technological realm and de-teching.”

 

An advantage of social media is being able to keep long distant “friendships.”  I put quotations over the word friendship because my confusion is, is it really a friendship if it is only on technology?  Another advantage is it is easy for businesses to grow and reach out to multiple people in a short amount of time, “Provides an opportunity to widen business contacts.”

 

Overall, there are always pros and cons to everything in life.  At the end of the day, I enjoyed having a day without social media and would be glad to do it again.  There are enough advantages for me to understand why we have social media and why, in some cases, we need it.  There are also some disadvantages that make me wish Facebook was never invented.  In the end, the world will continue to grow and change, so I might as well adapt to my surroundings.

1.)   http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/social%20media

2.)   http://www.cnn.com/2012/05/18/tech/social-media/facebook-deactivation-ireport

3.)   http://www.shrm.org/TemplatesTools/hrqa/Pages/socialnetworkingsitespolicy.aspx

Leave a comment